Convention to host the Hon. Jeremy Soames as guest speaker

3 Apr 2019


What do Peter Cundall, Stephen Biddulph, Nick Haddow, Leigh Woolley, Annette Downs, Ryk Goddard, Sally Dakis and Simon Currant have in common?

They are all Tasmanians, they have all made significant contributions to Tasmania and are ALL Churchill Fellows!! With the theme “Bringing Knowledge Home” the National Convention of Churchill Fellows will be held in Hobart, commencing this Friday (5th April).

The Convention will focus on the contribution the over 200 Tasmanians who have been awarded Churchill Fellowships since 1965, have made to Tasmania with the knowledge they have brought back to Tasmania as a result of their Fellowships. Many Tasmanian Churchill Fellows (including most of the afore mentioned people) will be speaking and making presentations during the Convention, demonstrating the incredible diversity that is a hallmark of the scheme that awards people from all walks of life. There will also be visits to several locations featuring the work of Fellows.

The Tasmanian Fellows will be joined by Fellows from across Australia and several from New Zealand and the UK. Interstate and overseas guests will gain a unique and enlightening perspective of Hobart, and Tasmania, through the work of a group of inspiring Fellowship recipients. The special guest for the Convention will be The Honourable Jeremy Soames, the grandson of Sir Winston Churchill and Chair of Trustees of The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust in the United Kingdom World renowned psychologist and educator, Stephen Biddulph OAM (Tasmanian Churchill Fellow 1980) will be guest speaker at a dinner on Saturday evening.

Another featured event during the convention will be a Tasmanian Youth Orchestra performance “Churchill’s Choice” curated and conducted by Gwyn Roberts (1974 Fellow), and featuring Meriel Owen (2013 Fellow) on harp. Special guest speaker will be ‘gardening guru’ Peter Cundall (1974 Fellow) and Ryk Goddard (2005 Fellow) will compere the concert. Her Excellency Professor The Honourable Kate Warner AC and Mr Richard Warner (1999 Fellow) will host a reception at Government House during the Convention.

Other notable attendees at the Convention include Adam Davey, CEO Winston Churchill Memorial Trust, David Trebeck, National Chair of the Trust, Dr Bronwyn Smits, Chair New Zealand Winston Churchill Memorial Trust, Alexandria Sloan, well-known former ABC journalist and Tasmanian President of the Association Dr Phillip Thompson.

The Convention concludes at lunchtime Sunday.

Media are invited to attend the Convention and there will be opportunities to interview numerous distinguished guests and to explore some of the incredible work being done by Churchill Fellows in Tasmania.

For further Convention information please visit

For more details on the programme click... m_5.pdf_FINAL.pdf

To arrange introductions and interviews, or for any questions, please contact Robert Parker on 0419 330 447

More news